Getting ready for China

Getting prepared for China meant learning a little Chinese and I do mean a little. I have been studying tapes from the library and when I went to NYC I used a LIFT whose driver was Chinese. As my grown daughters groaned, I launched into my introduction and then said a few phrases. The driver seemed pleased, he actually understood me and said something in return. It was at this point that I used my longest phrase in Chinese: “I don’t know what you are saying.” That worked as well and we all laughed but I was glad for the practice. I hope I can retain the little I have learned until we get to Beiging.

 

3 thoughts on “Getting ready for China

  1. Dear Janice,

    Your post identifies the author as Rachael.

    And it China we spell the ride service as “Lyft.”

    Love, Jack

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

